WCHA announces 2019-2020 preseason polls, all-conference teams


To kick off the conference’s media day, the WCHA has announced its 2019-2020 preseason coaches’ and media poll.

Check out how our four Michigan schools fared in the preseason forecast from the 10 bench bosses:


Coaches Poll

  1. Minnesota State (9)
  2. Bowling Green (1)
  3. Bemidji State
  4. Northern Michigan
  5. Michigan Tech
  6. Lake Superior State
  7. Alaska
  8. Ferris State
  9. Alabama Huntsville
  10. Anchorage


Media Poll

  1. Minnesota State
  2. Bowling Green
  3. Northern Michigan
  4. Michigan Tech
  5. Bemidji State
  6. Lake Superior State
  7. Ferris State
  8. Alaska
  9. Alabama Huntsville
  10. Alaska Anchorage


Preseason Player of the Year

Marc Michaelis – Senior – Forward – Minnesota State


Preseason Rookie of the Year

Nathan Smith – Freshman – Forward – Minnesota State


All-Conference Teams

Marc Michaelis – Senior – Minnesota State
Parker Tuomie – Senior – Minnesota State
Brandon Kruse – Junior – Bowling Green (Saline native)

Philip Beaulieu – Senior – Northern Michigan
Alec Rauhauser – Senior – Bowling Green

Dryden McKay – Sophomore – Minnesota State

Michigan names receiving votes: Brian Halonen, Michigan Tech; Max Humitz, Lake Superior State; Collin Saccoman, Lake Superior State; Matt Jurusik, Michigan Tech

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.