Graphic from the Big Ten Hockey Twitter account

Big Ten announces 2017-18 awards list of finalists

By @MichaelCaples –

The Big Ten has announced the finalists for the college hockey conference’s major awards, and there are plenty of Michigan names on the list.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday, March 13.

Michigan names in bold.

Coach of the Year

Mel Pearson – Michigan

Jeff Jackson – Notre Dame

Steve Rohlik – Ohio State


Freshman of the Year

Mitch Lewandowski – Michigan State

Quinn Hughes – Michigan

Casey Mittelstadt – Minnesota


Goaltender of the Year

Hayden Lavigne – Michigan

Cale Morris – Notre Dame

Sean Romeo – Ohio State


Defensive Player of the Year

Jake Evans – Notre Dame

Jordan Gross – Notre Dame

Trevor Hamilton – Penn State


Player of the Year

Cooper Marody – Michigan

Cale Morris – Notre Dame

Tanner Laczynski – Ohio State

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.