Photo by Andrew Knapik/MiHockey

Libby Bartels named 2019 Miss Hockey; girls’ all-state teams announced


By @MichaelCaples –

FARMINGTON HILLS – First a state championship, now the top individual award for girls’ high school hockey.

It’s been a good March for Libby Bartels.

The Mercy captain was named the 2019 Miss Hockey award winner Sunday.

Bartels, a senior, led Mercy to a Michigan High School Girls Hockey League state championship, helping the Marlins to a win over defending champion Grosse Pointe South in the final.

The Miss Hockey winner recorded 36 points on the season, per the MHSGHL official website.

All-State Teams announced

Congrats to the following girls who were named the MHSGHL All-State Teams (per the league’s Twitter account):

First Team

Libby Bartels – Mercy
Clare Murphy – Grosse Pointe North
Molly Ryszewski – Grosse Pointe South
Chloe Valente – Brighton/Howell/Hartland
Grace Al Sheikh – Cranbrook Kingswood
Savina Osann – Plymouth/Canton/Salem

Second Team

Ava Millman – Ann Arbor Pioneer
Grace Nieto – Mercy
Katie Pascoe – Ann Arbor Pioneer
Belle Welke – Grosse Pointe North
Madison Ryszewski – Grosse Pointe South
Haleigh Wall – Regina