Photos by Michael Caples/MiHockey

Big Ten announces finalists for 2018-19 awards


By @MichaelCaples –

The Big Ten is announcing the finalists for the conference’s major individual awards, and there are plenty of Michigan ties involved.

Here are the three finalists for each award:

Player of the Year
Taro Hirose, Michigan State
Quinn Hughes, Michigan (NTDP alum)
Mason Jobst, Ohio State (Muskegon Lumberjacks alum)

Defensive Player of the Year
Quinn Hughes, Michigan (NTDP alum)
Sasha Larocque, Ohio State
Paul DeNaples, Penn State

Goaltender of the Year
Matt Robson, Minnesota
Cale Morris, Notre Dame
Tommy Nappier, Ohio State

Freshman of the Year
Sammy Walker, Minnesota
Michael Graham, Notre Dame
K’Andre Miller, Wisconsin (NTDP alum)

Coach of the Year
Bob Motzko, Minnesota
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame (Roseville native, former NTDP, LSSU head coach)
Steve Rohlik, Ohio State