Jonathan Gruden, Steven Oleksy, Tyler Motte and Taro Hirose are just four of the players slated to participate in the 2019 Eastside Elite All-Star Challenge. (Photos by Michael Caples/MiHockey)

2019 Eastside Elite All-Star Challenge rosters, details announced


By @MichaelCaples –

It’s always a star-studded affair, and the 2019 edition won’t be any different.

The 2019 Eastside Elite All-Star Challenge rosters have been announced, as well as all the details you need to know for the annual event at Mt. Clemens Ice Arena.

Here is a look at the rosters for the 2019 Eastside ALC, which takes place on July 23. Tickets are available at the front desk of the Mt. Clemens Ice Arena, as well as by contacting commissioner/founder Steven Oleksy himself. Doors open at 5:30 p.m., with games starting at 7. Halfway through, the first-ever ‘Battle of the Sexes’ game will take place, with the Elite Women’s All-Stars taking on the Elite Young Gunz team that competes in the Eastside Elite league. That game is billed as “watch Michigan’s top women’s college players take on the future of men’s college hockey.”

Each year, Oleksy picks a different charity/cause to support; for the 2019 Eastside ALC, the event will be raising funds for the Cassie Hines Shoes Cancer Foundation. For more information about the foundation – a Michigan-based organization with a mission “to guide young adults with cancer to social support programs and services that can help them manage their mental healing as well as their physical battle” – click here.

UPDATE: There’s going to be a car show in the parking lot of Mt. Clemens, as well.


View this post on Instagram


If you need another reason to get excited for the @esehockey All-Star Challenge tomorrow, here it is!!! 😏😏😏

A post shared by Eastside Elite Hockey 🏒 (@esehockey) on

Team Bertuzzi

  • Todd Bertuzzi
  • Tag Bertuzzi
  • Cam Fowler
  • Christian Wolanin
  • Kerby Rychel
  • Ben Gleason
  • Jonathan Gruden
  • Antonio Stranges
  • Nolan Valleau
  • Sub: Trevor Hamilton
  • Goaltender: Thomas Proudlock

Team Nyquist

  • Gustav Nyquist
  • Zach Werenski
  • Luke Witkowski
  • Jordan Oesterle
  • Colin Larkin
  • Dalton Prout
  • Tyler Spezia
  • Steven Oleksy
  • Alex Kile
  • Sub: Greg Squires
  • Goaltender: Jake Theut

Team DeKeyser

  • Danny DeKeyser
  • Vlad Namestnikov
  • Ryan Moore
  • Tyler Motte
  • Andrew Bellant
  • Kelly Klima
  • Austin Grzenia
  • Drake Rymsha
  • Nick Schilkey
  • Sub: Shawn Szydlowski
  • Goaltender: Cam Johnson

Team Hirose

  • Taro Hirose
  • Riley Barber
  • Dylan Larkin
  • Seth Griffith
  • Mitch Eliot
  • Sasha Chmelevski
  • Gerald Mayhew
  • Josh Jacobs
  • Joey Kile
  • Sub: Jacob Pritchard
  • Goaltender: Drew DeRidder


MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.