Photo from the NAHL's official Twitter account

Eight Michigan natives win NAHL title with Shreveport Mudbugs

By @MichaelCaples –

The Shreveport Mudbugs are NAHL champions.

Not a bad second season for the Louisiana-based franchise.

On Monday night, eight Michigan natives and the rest of the Mudbugs secured the league championship with a 2-1 victory over the Minot Minotauros.

Kentwood native Brendan VanSweden scored the Mudbugs’ first goal; Grosse Pointe native Dominick Procopio and Brighton native Ryan Burnett set up the game-winner.

Here is Procopio – the Mudbugs’ captain – talking about the victory:


And Burnett doing the same:

Congrats to all the Michigan boys who are now national champions:

Kieran Durgan – Forward – St. John’s

Brendan VanSweden – Forward – Kentwood

Jake Transit – Forward – Royal Oak

Ryan Burnett – Forward – Brighton

Dominick Procopio – Defenseman – Grosse Pointe

Jack Clement – Defenseman – Bloomfield Heights

Andrew Lane – Defenseman – Howell

Jacob Skolnik – Defenseman – Fowlerville