PHOTOS: USA Hockey Arena hosts opening ceremony for 2018 15-Only Tier 1 National Championship

On Wednesday evening, USA Hockey Arena threw a party for their week-long guests. The Plymouth-based arena hosted an opening ceremony for the players and teams taking part in the 2018 USA Hockey 15-Only Tier 1 National Championship, which is now underway. Michigan was represented by 15O champion Little Caesars and the Oakland Jr. Grizzlies, who received an at-large bid.

Prior to speeches from Michigan Amateur Hockey Association president George Atkinson, USA Hockey’s senior director of hockey development Kevin McLaughlin and NTDP Under-18 Team head coach Seth Appert, player representatives from each of the participating teams were introduced while skating through a smoke and lights show normally reserved for NTDP games. Those players were:

  • Representing the Mercer Chiefs out of the Atlantic District: Aidan Trainor from Hightstown, New Jersey
  • Representing the Chicago Mission out of the Central District: Matt Romer from Carpentersville, Illinois
  • Representing the St Louis Blues out of the Central District: John Opilka from St Louis, Missouri
  • Representing Team Wisconsin out of the Central District: Jacob Conrad from Green Bay, Wisconsin
  • Representing Little Caesars out of the Michigan District: Jack Mesic from Plymouth, Michigan
  • Representing the Oakland Jr Grizzles out of the Michigan District: Cullen DeYoung from Canton, Michigan
  • Representing the Cleveland Barons out of the Mid-American District: Logan Cleary from Amherst, Ohio
  • Representing the Minnesota Blue Ox out of the Minnesota District: Joseph Pierce from Hermantown, Minnesota
  • Representing the CCYHA out of the New England District: Charlie DesRoches from Wellington, PEI, Canada
  • Representing the Buffalo Jr Sabres out of the New York District: Declan McDonnell from Lakeview, New York
  • Representing the Rochester Coalition out of the New York District: Zachary Gmerek from Pittsford, New York
  • Representing Team North Dakota out of the Northern Plains District: Joshua Moe from Mandan North Dakota
  • Representing the Alaska Oilers out of the Pacific District: Trey Whitehead from Palmer, Alaska
  • Representing Team Maryland out of the Southeast District: Sean Kilcullen from Kensington, Maryland

Check out MiHockey’s photos from the red carpet walk and the ceremony (photos by Michael Caples/MiHockey).

(Photos by Michael Caples/MiHockey)

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.