Seven Michigan natives win NAHL’s Robertson Cup with Lone Star Brahmas


By @MichaelCaples –

The Lone Star Brahmas are the 2017 NAHL champions – and seven of the players on the roster hail from the Great Lakes State.

Lone Star, located in North Richland Hills, Texas, beat the Aston Rebels 3-0 on Sunday to win the franchise’s first-ever NAHL championship.

Congrats to the Michigan natives on the Brahmas roster:

Alec Calvaruso – Livonia native
Calvaruso, a Colorado College commit, only appeared in two postseason games for the Brahmas, but he was a brick wall between the pipes in the regular season. He posted a 24-7-0 record with a 2.13 goals-against average and .906 save percentage in the timeframe, setting up the Brahmas for an eventual title.

Trevor Zenas – Spring Lake native
After joining the Brahmas halfway through the season, Zenas posted eight points in 28 regular-season games. He dressed in five postseason contests for Lone Star, recording two penalties.

Julian Biondo – Shelby Township native
Biondo posted four points in 11 postseason contest for the Brahmas, along with putting 29 shots on goal.

Austin Kamer – Grand Rapids native
The recent Michigan State commit recorded eight points in 11 postseason games, along with a +3 overall rating. In the regular season, he posted 43 points in 57 games.

Pete Kessel – Detroit native
Kessel, a Holy Cross commit, played at a point-per-game pace in the playoffs, logging 11 points in 11 games. He also finished with a postseason +4 rating.

Blake Evennou – Macomb native
Evennou suited up for nine postseason contests with the Brahmas after posting 16 points in 50 regular-season contests. He didn’t record any points in the playoffs, but he fired nine shots on goal.

Jared Kucharek – Parma native
Kucharek spent the majority of the 2016-17 season with the Meijer 18U team, playing in two games with the Brahmas in the regular season. He didn’t skate in any postseason contests.


MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.