Big Ten announces All-Conference Teams, postseason awards

By @MichaelCaples –

The Big Ten announced its postseason awards today, and, as expected, there wasn’t much recognition for the Michigan-based programs.

Here are the results:

Player of the Year – Tyler Sheehy (Minnesota)

Scoring champions – Tyler Sheehy (Minnesota) and Mason Jobst (Ohio State, Muskegon Lumberjacks alum)

Goaltender of the Year – Eric Schierhorn (Minnesota, Muskegon Lumberjacks alum)

Defensive Player of the Year – Jake Bischoff (Minnesota)

Freshman of the Year – Trent Frederic (Wisconsin, NTDP alum)

Coach of the Year – Tony Granato (Wisconsin, former Red Wings assistant coach)

First Team

Bischoff, Jobst, Schierhorn and Sheehy were joined on the All-Big Ten first team by Minnesota’s Justin Kloos and Penn State’s Vince Pedrie (quoted from Big Ten release).

Second Team

The second team consisted of Ohio State’s Christian Frey, Josh Healey and Nick Schilkey (Marysville native), and Wisconsin’s Frederic, Luke Kunin (NTDP alum) and Jake Linhart (quoted from Big Ten release).

All-Freshman Team

Frederic, a unanimous All-Freshman Team selection, was joined by Minnesota’s Ryan Lindgren (NTDP alum) and Rem Pitlick (Muskegon Lumberjacks alum) and Penn State’s Peyton Jones, Kris Myllari and Denis Smirnov (quoted from Big Ten release).

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.