From the Quebec Pee Wee tournament official Facebook page

Belle Tire wins Quebec International Pee-Wee tournament

From the Quebec Pee-Wee tournament official Facebook page
From the Quebec Pee-Wee tournament official Facebook page


By @MichaelCaples –

A team from Michigan just won one of the most prestigious youth tournaments the world has to offer.

The Belle Tire ’03 squad beat the Czech Knights 3-2 in the AAA Class of the Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament tonight, giving the Michigan-based club international bragging rights.

MORE: Belle Tire coach talks “storybook ending” for team at Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament

Sasha Pastujov – brother of NTDP players Nick and Michael Pastujov – recorded three points in the championship game, which was a come-from-behind effort after Belle Tire trailed 2-1 heading into third period.

Pastjuov led BT with 10 points in the tournament; Dylan Duke was second with eight.

Kaidan Mbereko led the way between the pipes, allowing only five goals in six games.

The team began the week-long tournament with an overwhelming 9-0 victory over the Buffalo Jr. Sabres on Feb. 13. Pasutjov recorded two goals and an assist, while Francesco Pinelli potted a third-period hat trick in 3:43 and Johnny Angerman earned the shutout.

Belle Tire stormed on to defeat the Pittsburgh Penguins Elite on Wednesday, 5-1, with Bennett Barnes, Tyler Duke, Pinelli, Pastujov and Dylan Duke lighting the lamp. In Friday’s 4-1 win over the New York Rangers on Friday, Dylan Duke and Adam Pietila each scored a pair of goals en route to the win.

BT faced a double-header on Saturday before heading to the championship game. First, the team topped the Los Angeles Jr. Kings by a 3-1 final – led by Dylan Duke’s pair of goals – before defeating the Mid Fairfield Jr. Rangers just hours later, 4-0.

Belle Tire entered the championship game having outscored the opposition 25-3 in five games and finished the tournament with a goal differential of plus-23.

Belle Tire’s full roster: Kaidan Mbereko, Johnny Angerman, Tyler Duke, Ty Gallagher, Adam Pietila, Noah Laba, Francesco Pinelli, Sasha Pastujov, Sterling Cooke, Ryan Mast, Logan Soffer, Austen May, Dylan Duke, Davis Codd, Colin Wenrich, Bennett Barnes.

MiHockey Staff

Welcome to MiHockey, your source for all things hockey in Michigan.